Hope everyone is having a lovely first week of November!

The temperatures are dipping slightly and every morning the trees look a little bit different as the colors change ever so slightly. Below is a quote I designed, that was featured on The Fiancial Diet. I love turning meaningful quotes into beautiful visuals through the use of mixed typefaces that compliment one another + simple color palettes.TFD_Truism_V3

The hardest part about designing typographic quotes is finding that perfect balance within the layout and making sure that the whole quote has a sense of lightness to it. After quickly sketching out the general idea of how I want the page to look, I decide which words should have greater emphasis. Then I go on an EPIC TYPEFACE HUNT to try and find beautiful typefaces that make sense for each of the words or phrases. I like to mix thin sans serifs with heavier stylized scripts, that pair nicely together. The background is a photograph that my friend Chelsea took, which I adjusted in Photoshop to be black and white, so that it would provide a rick dark colored background for the knock-out white type to sit on.

My friend Chelsea who writes the blog The Financial Diet, created a list of 7 daily affirmations to live by. This quote is the first one in the series that I’ll turn into a typographic visual. Stay tuned for the rest!!! Have a great weekend

-Lauren

