NY

On Sunday, my boyfriend and I went into NYC to see the New York Philharmonic’s The Planets at Avery Fisher Hall. In short, the show was wonderful. The orchestra played 5 classical pieces that were inspired by the heavenly bodies above, including the not so classical Star Wars track The Imperial March – Darth Vader’s theme song. The coolest part was in the latter half of the show, the music was paired with NASA footage of the solar system and space explorations, which was projected on a huge screen behind the orchestra.

There’s nothing quite like seeing classical music live. The sounds is so much more intense and the sound is so crisp. I loved watching the musicians as they played and paid special attention to how their bodies moved as they played. Afterward the show, we took a walk around Lincoln Center to explore the beautiful modern architecture and took a moment to swing by the Julliard School. Being a dancer myself, seeing the place where I know so many incredible dancers train, gives me complete goosebumps. I spied on some ballet students taking selfies on the grass structure outside the school and spotted a poster for A Dancer’s Dream, featuring the one and only Sara Mearns from the New York City Ballet.

lincoln center main

Lincoln CenterA dancers dream

The lovely Sara Mearns, my favorite NYCB Principal ballerinaABT

julliard school

I got an awesome photo of this chick doing some ballet moves
lincoln center water

lincoln center

clean modern architecture in the courtyardavery fisher hall

The NY Philharmonic inside Avery Fisher Hall

