It was a quiet day, a couple of years back , and I sat perched on the couch in my room flipping through the pages of NYLON MAGAZINE when I stumbled upon this illustration.

Well, I was smitten. The colors, the illustration technique, the gothic Victorian air of the doll-like faces staring back at me….I had just seen my first Raquel Aparicio illustration and her work as since then, become some of my favorite design work to look to for inspiration. I adore her use of watercolors, the way the delicate colors bleed into one another to create dreamy landscapes of fantastical people and places. On her website, she says “I  love reading, cats, creepy animation movies and Raúl.” (what’s not to love?!) Her work has been featured in publications such as The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, Nylon, Dazed and Confused (Corea), Runner’s World, Prevention, Rolling Stone (Spain ) and Elle, just to name a few. As a lover of the Tim Burton and Henry Selick aesthetic, her work speaks to me and rekindles my childhood fears of the fairytale-esque nightmares we read all read about…

Here are some more examples of her work, and her full portfolio can be accessed here.

 

 

 

Oh this is what I aspire to be … Enjoy ! =) 

